Wilkin County Treasurer: Rose Ann Hulne
Location: 1st Floor, Courthouse, 300 South 5th Street, Breckenridge, MN
Mail: PO Box 368, Breckenridge, MN 56520
Phone: 218-643-7112 Fax: 218-643-7169
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM. Monday through Friday, not open holidays.
The County Treasurer in Wilkin County is an elected position. The treasurerís office receipts in all county monies received and credits funds to proper accounts; we disburse the funds only at the direction of the County Board to cover county liabilities. The Treasurer invests excess county funds under statutory guidelines to receive the highest return for the county with safety of investments first.
The Treasurerís Office mails out the tax statements, accepts payments for all real estate, personal property, mineral interest, and mobile home taxes. We maintain tax books showing taxes paid or unpaid, changes of ownership or taxpayer. We maintain an updated list of names of addresses for taxpayers in Wilkin County. We also maintain and collect delinquent mobile home taxes.
Wilkin County property tax information is available at our office. We collect deed and mortgage registration tax. We mail distribution of all tax monies to local units of government. Minnesota Property Tax Refund forms are available for the public.
Notary service is available in our office and we file Notary Commissions and minister credentials.
Renewal of driver licenses can be done at any time during regular office hours. Driver license examiner is here on the second and fourth Friday of the month with the exception of holidays. The written test is given at 10 a.m. only and no appointment is needed to take the written test. Appointments for the driven test must be made with the examiner when he is here.
Birth and death information and certified copies of these records are available from this office. A certified copy of a birth record is $16.00. Additional copies made at the same time of the same record are $9.00. A certified copy of a death record is $13.00. Additional copies made at the same time of the same record are $6.00. Law requires an application form be completed and tangible interest shown before a certified copy of a birth or death record can be issued. Please contact our office for a copy of this form. The application form may also be found at Minnesota Department of Health web site www.health.state.mn.us. Non-certified birth record or non-certified death record fee is $13.00.
Marriage licenses are also available in the Treasurerís Office. The cost is $100.00, unless the couple has attended pre-marital classes, then the fee is $30.00, with a signed statement form the pastor/priest/person performing the ceremony. There is an application that must be filled out and signed, with a 5-day waiting period before the license can be issued. A Minnesota marriage license is required for any marriage performed in Minnesota.
Back to top
| Home | Statistics | History | Departments/Officials | Commissioners | Courthouse | Agenda and Meeting Minutes |